4 Oct 2013

The 9 forms of the Divine Mother

On Saturday night, 5th October 2013 at 18:00 the 9 nights of the divine Mother start.

During Navaratri, we invoke the energy aspect of God in the form of the Universal Mother, referred to as "Durga" which literally means the remover of miseries of life. She is also referred to as "Shakti" (energy or power). It is this energy, which helps God to proceed with the work of creation, preservation and destruction (Brahma, Vishnu, Shiva).

Navaratri celebrates the slaying of Mahishasura by Durga. The word Navaratri literally means nine nights in Sanskrit; Nava meaning Nine and Ratri meaning nights. The Navaratri festival or ‘nine night festival’ becomes a ‘ten day festival’ with the addition of the last day as culmination, where at Shree Peetha Nilaya Swami Vishwananda and devotees will be doing a Maha Yagna (13. October). During all nine nights the nine forms of Shakti/Devi i.e. female divinity are worshipped.

Additional Program: 

On the days 1-3 and 7-9 will be a Yagna at 14:30 - 16:00 with one of the Swamis.
On the days  4-6 will be a special Yagna, "Prathyangira Devi Yagna" done by Swami Vishwananda. This is to honour  Prathyangira Devi  (with a lot of Chilli) and is on this three days at 11:00 o'clock.

Here are the 9 forms of Devi and the colour of the saree you can wear:

Day 1 till 3 are forms of Durga (power and energy)

1. Shailaputri  Devi (red)
2. Bramacharini Devi (white)
3. Chantrakanta Devi (peacock green) 

Day 4 till 6 are forms of Lakshmi (brings spiritual wealth):

4. Kushmande Devi (orange)
5. Skanda Mata (yellow)
6. Katyayani Devi (blue)

Day 7 till 9 are forms of Sarasvati (brings wisdom):

7. Kalaratri Devi (black)
8. Mahagauri Devi (light green)
9. Siddhidatri Devi (red)